For your viewing pleasure: pomegranate!

20 Feb

I thought that for the first unveiling of my new place, why not start with my favorite corner?

What I fell in love with immediately after touring my apartment, before it was my apartment, was its personality. A lot of apartments are reminiscent of hospitals and nursing homes: everything’s white and off-white. Gross. This one, while the walls were all painted either white (bathroom, kitchen, and bedroom) or beige (living room), it still had the little sumthin’ sumthin’ I was looking for. Case in point: these beautiful, gorgeous built-in shelves:

Remember my old sewing room? Well, I went crazy and bought this zero-VOC paint (which means it’s a lot better for the environment, you know, without any VOCs (ask me what VOC stands for (I have not the slightest idea what VOC stands for, but I know that it’s bad and I don’t want it (how many parentheses inside parentheses until you go crazy?)))). However, when I bought this awesome zero-VOC paint from the Natura line at Hirschfield’s, I didn’t check the price because I had a coupon, and when you have a coupon, whatever you want to buy is then cheap, right? WRONG! Wow, was I wrong. Most expensive paint there is, and I’m probably not even joking about that one.

Ok, that was a long explanation, but what I was getting at, was that I still had half a gallon of my beautiful, expensive Pomegranate Natura paint, and I wasn’t going to let it go to waste. As soon as I saw the built-ins, I knew that the pomegranate would look exquisite on it, and I was right.

In that first picture, that’s the door to my apartment, and my coat closest is behind the shelving. I keep my cook books, games, movies, and a smattering of books on the shelves. If you look closely, my VHS tapes look amazing on my shelf, too. Yes, I still have a VHS player. And, yes, I refuse to buy a high-def television. I have the oldest TV of anyone I know, and I’m keeping it until it dies. I think that will be many, many moons from now…

Jean-Louis also lives on the shelves. Jean-Louis is a copper lobster that I kept while my aunt and I were cleaning out my grandparents’ house before my grandma moved into the rest home. My grandfather (the handsome man in uniform in the picture on the top shelf) had an affinity for copper figurines, and Jean-Louis was the strangest, and, therefore, my favorite.

Here’s another shot of what’s on the shelves. As you can see, it’s a tribute to my family (yes, mother, if you get me a picture of you when you were a child I will put it on there, but YOU HAVE TO GET ME A PICTURE!):

5 Responses to “For your viewing pleasure: pomegranate!”

  1. Mark February 20, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    VOC = volatile organic compounds. 🙂

    And you’re right to avoid them. Pretty nasty stuff.

    • jsophia February 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      At one time, when I was researching paint, I knew what they were, but, it was one of those things that my brain decided I could just remember the basics of, not the specifics. 🙂

  2. Joy February 23, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Ah, I wish I had a picture of when you picked up Jean-Louis the first time. That was the oddest of the brass collection. Also the first time ever we played a battle game, when we started selecting animals that were the toughest to have them duke it out. Hey, it had been a long day! You spotted the lobster and we both knew I had lost the battle.

    • jsophia February 23, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      BRASS not copper. To be honest, I don’t know the difference. I’d forgotten about the fight! But, once we made it to the basement, it really was just downhill from there…

      • Joy February 27, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

        That was weird, I hadn’t noticed you called it copper. Guess being a proofreader isn’t in my future.

        I have two miniature pieces, a realistic duck and a modernist loon. And a tiny litter slipper/one cigarette ashtray which was so bizarre I had to have it!

Leave a Reply

