And now, the unveiling of “Warm Blanket”!

14 Nov

Finally, it took me long enough.

In my defense, I blame the weather. It’s really, truly not summer anymore. That gorgeous 60 degree weather lasted much, much longer than it normally does in Minnesota, and it made me forget that it had turned to fall. And this week, it caught up to me. I realized that I can’t do anything in my garden anymore, I can’t take evening walks because I don’t want to be ran over in the dark, and I had to take out my sweaters. Le sigh… And so I got that “what do I do with my life now?” feeling.

And, there were so many little steps to finishing the room. Like touching up the edges, getting everything back in the room, making it all pretty, and, lastly, sewing the new runners for the dressers. Today, I finally did it!

Ok, just so you remember, here’s the room at its worst:

Colors of the rainbow, all on our walls.

Ta-da!

Doesn't that just make you feel warm and cozy?

And the view from the other side

So, to walk you through it: we painted the walls and the ceiling, but the window and door frames looked great and we didn’t need to do anything with them. The quilt on the bed, I’m reasonably proud to say, is the very first quilt I made, at quilt camp, age 12. The pattern is called “Around the World,” and I’m still quite happy with the fabrics I picked way back in the day.

The framed print is called “The Kiss,” by Gustav Klimt, my favorite artist. There’s another print in the living room. The wicker laundry basket is from Home Goods, which is like Marshall’s (I think they’re owned by the same company), a store that sells basically anything you’d need in your house (obviously, with a name like Home Goods).

And here’s what I spent my afternoon doing, measuring and creating my own patterns, cutting out the fabric, and sewing.

 

Every bedroom needs a plant. And books.

So, that’s my handiwork!  My aunt Joy’s (frequent commenter!) friend had a trunk-load of upholstery fabric that my mom and I divvied up a couple months ago, and I finally used some of it! The colors matched those in the quilt and in the Klimt painting, so it seemed meant to be.

The room technically isn’t finished. The plan is to paint the dresser set, probably a dark chocolate brown, and get a large rug. I also loathe the blinds. So ugly. New blinds coming after winter!

Coming soon: I’m going to start showing the clothes that I sew for myself!

2 Responses to “And now, the unveiling of “Warm Blanket”!”

  1. Katey November 14, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    I like all the sewing you do! It’s inspiring me to get out my machine and start “sewing like the wind.”

    • jsophia November 14, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      Thanks, Katey! It’s fun for me, plus then I feel like what I have is unique.

Leave a comment