“Goodbye Cruel World”; or, We politely reject your invitation to live in our home

13 Oct

Yup, you probably guessed it. Our first mouse committed suicide. Yes, we set the trap, but it chose to step into it.

Side note: This was a conversation we had before the post.

Me: “Is it unethical if I post pictures of a dead mouse on the internet?”

Chris: “Probably.”

Me: “I’m going to do it anyway.”

 

No one needs to see this too large.

 

So, we check our 3 mouse traps each day. Today, we started with the trap up in the crawl space, where we saw the two little guys this weekend. Nothing. Then, we moved down to the basement where we set the other two. The first one, next to the unused freezer, was untouched. We turned towards the one next to the washing machine. “It moved!” Chris noticed. And he was right. The trap…had moved. We inched closer, and that’s when we saw the tail in the corner. The trap had obviously flipped over with the power of the snap.

Chris wants me to post this picture. I don’t want to, but we’re all a little masochistic, right? I’m going to post it small, but if you click on it, you can see it full-sized.

 

This is what a dead mouse looks like up-close.

 

We had to stare at it for awhile. And then we asked ourselves, “Now what do we do?!” I want to point out that Chris and I did fight over who was going to take it outside, but the fight was because we both offered to do it, not because neither of us wanted to do it. Well, “want” isn’t exactly the right word. But, we were both willing to do it for the better good. And so the house didn’t start smelling.

I ended up “winning” because I told Chris I had gotten rid of a dead mouse before. My mother is more scared of mice than anyone in the world, probably (and I’m sure she will post something about that later), and one day when my dad was gone somewhere, probably when I was about 12 years old, we caught a mouse in the trap underneath the kitchen sink. Now, even though I was only 12, I knew how much my mother needed me, and I took it out of the house for her.

Ok, so, even though I was going to do it, it didn’t mean I was gung-ho and excited about it. It took awhile.

Yes, I am wearing bright red pants.

We had to discuss what we were going to do with the dead mouse. Chris’ idea: bury it. I said no. So, we double-bagged it and put it in the dumpster. Is it illegal to put dead animals in dumpsters? Hmm, my guess is yes, probably. But what else were we going to do?

I would also like to point out that the mouse could’ve chosen to eat the peanut butter in the live trap, but it chose the death trap. For those of you who sympathize with the mouse.

4 Responses to ““Goodbye Cruel World”; or, We politely reject your invitation to live in our home”

  1. Mom October 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Okay, remember I am the one who beat that rat to death until it was flat as a pancake when it was fighting with Hogan? I guess and I can always save someone I love, even if it is a dog.

    • jsophia October 15, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

      Remember how during the rat incident I was 4 years old?! ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes, I do remember how brave you were that day. But it was Sheba, not Hogan. I can’t believe you’d get those two confused! Even though they looked almost exactly alike.

  2. Joy October 16, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Hogan and Sheba looked almost alike? I thought you guys were doing underground cloning experimentation.

    Joy

    • jsophia October 16, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

      Isn’t amazing: you take unrelated mutts, add my family, and POOF! you get the same dog. Not that I remember Hogan. But I have seen pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

