“Um…Chris? Chris?! Come here! Just…just…come here!”

7 Sep

WARNING: Do not continue if you’re squeamish! I’m serious!!

So, those were the exact words I stuttered out to Chris last night while we were cleaning up pre-dinner. (And we still ate dinner after this, pretty amazing when you think about it.) He tried to get me to tell him why he should come over. But I couldn’t find the words. He needed to see this for himself.

Look closely, can you see them squirm?

OH NO NO NO NO NO!!! WTF?!?!?!?!?!

That was our reaction, neatly put.

I was watering the plants, and that’s what I found in our palm tree. BLEH! It causes a strong reaction.

We thought there was something seriously wrong with the plant, and got it out of the house as soon as we could, but not before a fight. I thought Chris, being the man, would be manly and put the tree outside. He put on garden gloves and shoes, so I thought I was right in thinking that. However, he made me take half of the pot.

And then we googled what could possibly cause worms to erupt in the plant. Turns out it’s pretty common, especially for plants whose soil needs to be kept moist. They’re gnat worms.

I checked all the other plants in the house–we kind of have an indoor forest–but none of the other ones have them. Oh, thank you sweet lord. The palm tree is living outside for a little while, and the gnat worms should die away, or whatever they do, before it gets too cold outside for the palm.

I still want to throw up.

2 Responses to ““Um…Chris? Chris?! Come here! Just…just…come here!””

  1. Joy September 8, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Glad the picture wasn’t in 3D, they don’t look so disgusting without the squirming.

    Hey, if you want even more old growth forest inside, my MIL has two huge plants she wants to give away. You would have to go get them though!

    Joy

  2. Mom September 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    EWWWWW!!!!!
    I do kind of like the equal opportunity carrying though.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

