Today, a bee stung my face; and other stories

28 Aug

Seriously, a bee stung my face. Right next to my lips. It flew right into my cheek, and I felt the fuzz smash against me, followed by a prickly feeling. I firmly brushed that @#$% bee off (although, the bee fuzz felt oddly nice against my face), and walked quickly away from where I was working in my compost (which will be another post) and into the kitchen, followed by Chris’s mom, who was helping me work in the compost. She told me to hold onion against where the sting was. By the time I cut a piece of onion, my face was tingly and the pain was getting worse by the second. I could feel it swelling.

A BEE STUNG ME ON THE FACE!!! What kind of bee does that?!

Sorry, I just had to get that out.

Anyway, if a bee ever stings you on the face, or anywhere else for that matter, put some onion on it. It started feeling better right away. My face was slightly swollen for a little while, but not for even an hour I don’t think. There’s a tiny little dot next to my lips from the stinger, but other than that, no sign. Onions are amazing!

Ok, now for the other stories. Chris’ parents came over to help cut down some branches. We have a sad little birch tree next to the garden, and it had a branch that had fallen onto our power line. So, whenever there was a strong wind, we’d lose power. Lots o’ fun. But, we were too scared to cut it down ourselves. I can’t think of a single thing his dad is afraid of, so of course he came over to help!

The men cut down some stuff. I tried not to think about what they were doing. For example:

The ladder is resting on a ledge. Yes, a ledge. Ok, on the "earth" next to a ledge. Chris made me type that.

A couple of crazies, those two. But, look at their accomplishments:

Pile #1

Pile #2

Now, with all these branches down, our sunset view will be even more lovely. We have an awesome view. Our 3 season porch is on the east side of the house, overlooking Pig’s Eye Lake. I was going to link to a page showing lovely pictures of the lake, but there are none. Instead, here’s the wikipedia post on its namesake, Pierre “Pig’s Eye” Parrant. Interesting guy.

Besides opening up our view and getting limbs off power lines, they also took some branches off of one of our two Catalpa (Or Catawba, wikipedia tells me) trees. Also known as gigantour leaf-tree that killed the sunflowers, transplanted ferns, and a good section of grass on our lawn:

No, no grass.

See?

But no one fell off any ladders. There were some branch scrapes, but nothing life-threatening.

And now, it’s time to eat a delicious salad, watch a movie, and veg out. It’s hard work bringing branches up a hill into a pile. (I’m sure it’s also hard to cut them down, but I did not do that. I weeded and transferred. And was stung by a bee, in case you forgot).

That brings me to another story that I thought about during the day. I recently read the book, “Island,” by Aldous Huxley. It’s about an Utopian society that is being threatened by modern society. It’s not always a page-turner, but I recommend it. Anyway, this society has people of all professions: doctors, construction workers, librarians, teachers. But no matter how smart you are, you still have to do manual labor every week, work with your hands. I really see the meaning in that, and I think it’s a really good thing. Chris and I both have desk jobs, and I think it’s important for not only our house’s aesthetics but for our own mental health that we do hard labor outside.

That’s my advice for this post: go outside and sweat it out.

7 Responses to “Today, a bee stung my face; and other stories”

  1. Terri August 29, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I think the bees are particularly vicious this year. I’ve been stung twice!!! The first time was when one had landed on my jeans at a restaurant. I brushed it off, bending my arm in the process, and somehow it wedged in the crook of my arm so it could sting me. The second time I was pulling a few rogue weeds from my newly landscaped area and one was hiding behind a hosta leaf. I reached behind to grab the weed and it stung me on not one, but two fingers. JERK bees!

    • jsophia August 29, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      What is it with bugs this year? They crazy!! But good thing neither of us are allergic, right?

  2. Margo August 29, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I am less concerned by the ledge and more concerned by the power lines in the first picture! Or maybe the picture makes the angle/closeness of the power line look different. I’m hoping that is the case 🙂

    • jsophia August 29, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      Yup, I probably should have included that part. The line goes straight through the tree. But, pretty sure it’s a telephone line. Our power connects to the house from the other side of the house. Still concerning, however.

  3. Mom August 30, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    That photo of Rick and Chris was terrifying!!! Could you even watch? You didn’t tell me about the bee sting. Poor daughter.

  4. Joy September 2, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Overhead lines, busy street, iffy ladder placements, why so nervous? Yikes. Hope you checked your insurance policy before starting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Wrap-up! « The @#$% deer ate my beans… - November 21, 2010

    […] The bees took over my compost pile. […]

Leave a Reply

