I have a secret

10 Aug

I’ve been keeping it on the DL because I didn’t want word to spread to those who could ruin it for me.

The deer didn’t get all the beans. Ha! Take that @#$% deer!!! They mostly decimated the first crop, but the second crop was so young when they got to it, that most of the beans hadn’t even flowered yet. And so, yesterday, this is what I found (but, it wasn’t a surprise, I knew they were there, just for clarification):

And so I steamed them up and we had a delicious meal with chicken sautéed with basil (also from the garden), a delicious white sauce, and take and bake bread that we dipped in olive oil from my aunt and uncle’s farm in New Zealand. I make a pretty mean dinner when I want to.

There’s just something extra amazing about eating food that you grew and tended to yourself. One obvious benefit is saving money, and another obvious one is that it’s fresher, since we ate the beans literally half an hour after they were picked.

Now, I should point out that this way of life is synchronized with how I grew up. My mom’s garden is something I strive for, but, living in the city, I just don’t have the space. She has rows and rows of tomatoes, and zucchini, more beans than a family could eat, strawberries, lettuce, kale, potatoes, kohlrabi, table onions, and probably other stuff that I’m forgetting. She has an entirely separate herb garden. That’s what I want, to never (or at least rarely) buy vegetables in the summer. She cans a lot of it, too, for presents and for the cold winter months when that can’t get off the farm for weeks at a time (ha).

So, I will continue to do my best to sustain Chris and myself with just beans this summer. And then there are these gems just teasing me:

But they’re all mine! Chris doesn’t like tomatoes. Which is all the better for me. Unfortunately, he does like Truffle Shuffle ice cream.

One Response to “I have a secret”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So many things to do…only so much of a house budget. « The @#$% deer ate my beans… - September 13, 2010

    […] kitchen burnt tomato (or some name similar to that) because it has exposed bricks and is amazing (sneak peak here), well, now that it’s painted. We repainted a couple other rooms (see previous post about my […]

Leave a Reply

