Stripes and patterns DO go together!

2 Aug

That’s my very own personal sewing room in the upstairs of our house, which I painted pomegranate to serve as inspiration.

So, probably about a year ago I sewed myself a lunch bag to bring to work. I made my own pattern and used scraps from past projects. And it was a fabulous little lunch bag. What spawned the making of it was that my tomato, mozzarella, and balsamic vinegar salads kept spilling all over the insides of my purse. Do you know how bad balsamic vinegar stinks after it’s gotten warm in the sun? And how the stench spreads to everything inside your purse? My cell phone started smelling like balsamic. I needed something washable, instead of the faux-leather teal handbag that could hold my entire life. And thus, started the life of my beautiful lunch bag.

Until, a couple months ago, it just disappeared. Poof! It was gone. I literally held out hope for the last, oh, probably 142 days that I would find it. But it never showed up. So last night, while Chris was away playing softball, I decided to do something about it. And this is what resulted:

I used fabric from Chris’ Christmas boxers (that were too large, oops) and some fabric that I’ve used for countless projects (the ears in an elephant for my niece, a purse for my mom and aunt, etc.). And, ta-da! And with this pattern that I concocted, I left enough room for just about anything I could want to bring for lunch. The old one was only about half the size and the straps were a lot longer. This one is more like a tote. It’s also reversible!

Basically, this one’s way better.

4 Responses to “Stripes and patterns DO go together!”

  1. Mom August 3, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Way cool. Any orders? I also love the washability of it. A lot cooler than the guys (some shirtless) in the backyard digging up the old well house 😉

  2. Amanda Dirnberger August 13, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    I love the bags. I may need to commission you to make me a dress this spring.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So many things to do…only so much of a house budget. « The @#$% deer ate my beans… - September 13, 2010

    […] (sneak peak here), well, now that it’s painted. We repainted a couple other rooms (see previous post about my sewing room), and had to reroof the house (stupid insurance agents!!!!), but that’s all. No new […]

  2. For your viewing pleasure: pomegranate! « My apartment is more colorful than your apartment. - February 20, 2011

    […] my old sewing room? Well, I went crazy and bought this zero-VOC paint (which means it’s a lot better for the […]

Leave a Reply

