Things are just…different

18 Jul

In case you’re wondering, yes, I am a fan of ellipses and you will be seeing them often on this blog. I apologize if that’s annoying, but I find them to be quite useful to convey my tone. However, I do plan on leaving emoticons out of this.

Tomorrow is my half birthday (no I do not celebrate that, but yes, I used to), and I’ve decided to do some reflecting. Over the last year, I have noticed that I do things differently, live my life in a slightly new way. I don’t stay out late Thursday through Saturday night consecutively anymore, don’t go salsa dancing ever, I don’t drink more than two drinks in one night, and I sleep eight hours every night. And when I stray from this path, my body punishes me for it.

Like this weekend. I went out with friends on Friday night and had a fabulous time (I should’ve taken video…there are no words to explain some of the people we met), and then went from a late brunch with my parents, Chris, and his mom. And because I couldn’t just sleep in and do nothing the next day, that night I had to stay home because I had a headache, was sweating all over, and couldn’t sit up straight. I weeded my garden for half an hour and thought I was going to pass out.

So, is this what I have to look forward to in the coming decades? Or do I have lupus? I think I have lupus. A 26-year-old should be able to stay out until 2 and be able to function the next day, right?

2 Responses to “Things are just…different”

  1. Mark July 19, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    It could just be that if you haven’t been out very much lately, then you’ve simply lost your tolerance for it?

    There’s a lot more to lupus than just feeling tired. Do you have pain/swelling in any joints or muscle pain? Are you more sensitive to sun than you used to be?

    Check out http://www.niams.nih.gov/Health_Info/Lupus/lupus_ff.asp and see if any of those symptoms listed fit for you.

  2. jsophia July 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Mark, the only chronic ailment I suffer from is hypochondria…at least that I know of.

Leave a Reply

