The @#$% deer ate my beans…

9 Jul

For my first garden this summer (first, as in, first ever on my own, not just the little random lot with my Burpee children’s surprise pack in my parents’ lawn), the only plant I had total, complete hope for were my green beans. When the radish didn’t take root, I brushed my shoulders off and said, “eh”. When the sunflowers sprouted and then mysteriously disappeared, I figured I needed to plant them in a sunnier spot, not knowing when I put the seeds in that the tree next to it had gigantour leaves. But the beans, the beans would grow.

And grow, they did. I planted gourmet green and purple beans, and when I saw the sprouts less than a week after the seeds were in the ground, I literally squealed with giddiness. My beans wouldn’t fail me.

The beans didn’t fail me: the deer turned against me. Early in the summer, when I was replanting Hydrangea on our tree line, I spoke to three of the local deer, explaining to them that while I appreciated them, they were not to come into our yard and especially not into my garden. I thought we had an understanding.

It had been about a month and a half since that talk, and there was not one sign of them in my garden…until I left for work one morning and saw this:

goodbye beautiful bean buds....

5 Responses to “The @#$% deer ate my beans…”

  1. Joy July 13, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    I have felt your sorrow. I can recommend Liquid Fence. Works great but I suggest not spraying it downwind or if you’re expecting company as the smell is insanely horrible, luckily for a very short time.

    Good luck!

  2. timmy July 13, 2010 at 3:14 am #

    I have ways of dealing with deer.. I also have some good recipes too

    • jsophia July 13, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      Sadly for you, Timmy, I’m pretty sure it’s illegal to hunt deer in the city limits of St. Paul.

  3. Mark July 13, 2010 at 4:19 am #

    Bad deer! Is it too late to try re-planting?

    • jsophia July 13, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      You know, it might not be! I suppose if I plant now, they might be ready sometime in September.

Leave a Reply

